Lens or situation?? - The TrekEarth Forums

Forums

Go Back   The TrekEarth Forums >

Notices

Old 05-15-2007, 07:46 AM
TE Senior Member

Default Lens or situation??

Man, I started to go to sleep and this question crossed my mind. When you shoot - do you carry a bunch of lenses and shoot what is pleasing to your eye and select a good lens or do you plan where you're shooting and pack the right lens??? I have several lenses that do a good job on this and that. Some better on some things than others. Like one I hardly ever even unpack and it does a great job. Guess that's what made me wonder. What's the best way you think?? Any ideas?
S.
Old 05-15-2007, 10:39 AM
TE Junior Member

Default Re: Lens or situation??

Hi Shelly.

I used to be a very reactive photographer and carry "everything - just in case". These days I'm learning the benefits of the "if you fail to plan, you plan to fail" mantra.

If you have a good idea (or a fixed plan) of what you're about to shoot, then why lug round more than you need. For real gear-junkies, then maybe take one "extra" lens as a comfort blanket (a macro?) just in case there's some detail that you can't get with a short range zoom.

Focus and travel light would be my advice.

Regards,

Paul.
Old 05-15-2007, 11:36 AM

As most of my work is landscapes, the trusty 24-85 covers most eventualities. I will often take the 75-300 as well. I put it and the ND filters along with polariser, spare battery etc into a bumbag rather than carry the main camera bag with all the rest of the kit that generally just stays in the bag anyway.
Old 05-15-2007, 05:12 PM
TE Expert

I don't resally try to go for a certain situation, since I have proven to myself that if I do I probably won't find it and by looking for a certain situation I am missing some very nice other moments that I could have caught. In that sense, I'm open for what passes by.