Photos

Photographer's Note

Friars of the monastic order of St. Augustine arrived in Goa 1572 CE. Needing accommodation, they constructed a small monastery, later enlarged, on Holy Hill in Old Goa. Subsequently, they added a church. The soft stone found in the area, a laterite - basically a clay, does not stand up well to the rains coming in off the Indian Ocean, year after year. The roof of the nave collapsed in 1846 CE. This is the view to the east from the chancel/choir end of the church, looking toward the nave and what remains of the facade.

In Goa, the year 1835 CE, religious orders were suppressed by the authorities and church properties fell into neglect.

mirosu, Kofman trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ken Boulter (Sardonik) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 0 N: 957] (1979)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2005-03-02
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposition: f/4.6, 1/320 secondes
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2012-09-20 3:42
Viewed: 1121
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ken Boulter (Sardonik) Silver Note Writer [C: 2 W: 0 N: 957] (1979)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH