Photos

Photographer's Note

Pravets Monastery St. Theodor Tiron
In the ancient times there was a Thracian sanctuary at same place. It is assumed that a monastery was found there in the beginning of the XII century at the times of kings Asen and Peter. During the Ottoman rule, the monastery was destroyed twice - in the XVII century by janissaries and in XVIII century by kurdjalis. It was restored in 1866 with donations from local wealthy residents. In the period from the Liberation to World War II, the monastery functions as a nunnery.
Pravets Monastery consists of two small buildings - church and monastic cloister with seven rooms. Once there was a chapel near the existing cloister but now there are no traces left. Th Church "St. Theodore Tyron" is a solid stone building with three apses.
The iconostasis was made by masters of the Teteven School, as the icon of St. Georgi from 1869 is of greatest interest. The icon of the patron saint St. Theodore Tyron is almost entirely destroyed. Interest for visitors are also the bas-reliefs of two-headed eagles and a Russian silver coin, placed above the church’s holy gates.

jhm trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1248
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 307 W: 125 N: 954] (6557)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH