Photos

Photographer's Note

Before the construction of the first monastic establishment in the 8th century, the island was called "monte tombe". According to legend, the Archangel Michael appeared to St. Aubert, bishop of Avranches, in 708 and instructed him to build a church on the rocky islet. Aubert repeatedly ignored the angel's instruction, until Michael burned a hole in the bishop's skull with his finger.

Kofman trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1689
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by William Almonte Jimenez (VerticalRiver) Silver Note Writer [C: 6 W: 0 N: 103] (548)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH