Photos

Photographer's Note

Bridge Alexandre III
The bridge Alexandre-III is one of the most beautiful bridges of Paris classified with the historic buildings. It crosses the Seine between 7th and 8th district of Paris and was offered to France by the Tsar Alexandre III of Russia for the Universal Exposition of Paris of 1900.

History
It was intended to symbolize the Franco-Russian friendship concluded between the Tsar Alexandre III from Russia (1845-1894) and the president of French Republic Sadi Carnot (1837-1894) and was built for the World Fair of Paris in 1900. It is built in the axis of the esplanade of the Invalids and connects it to Small and Large Palate also built for the World Fair. Its construction in was entrusted to engineers Jean Résal and Amédée d' Alby like in the architects Cassien-Bernard and Gaston Cousin. It is metal bridge a 40 meters broad composed of only one arch of 107 meters including/understanding three joints, making it possible to cross the Seine without intermediate point of stanchion.
Two tunnels hones some are located at its ends. The first stone was posed by the Tsar Nicolas II of Russia in 1896 (wire of Alexandre III of Russia) and it was inaugurated in 1900 at the time of the World Fair. On the column, rivets right downstream, one can read: “On April 14, 1900, Emile Loubet chair French Republic opened the World Fair and inaugurated the bridge Alexandre III” He is classified with the inventory of the Historic buildings in 1975. Its buttresses side rivets right shelter since September 2006 a night club called Showcase, arranged in a hangar with unused boat. This place, opened with general public in mid-December 2006, can be used like concert hall and of the emissions of television are recently recorded there.

from fr.wikipedia.org
traslated with traslate.google

History of Bridge Alexandre III

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2065
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Monica Rizzo (Mokina) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 53 W: 0 N: 37] (262)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH