Photos

Photographer's Note

Elafonisos is found in southeastern tip of Peloponnese with area of 19 square kilometres and distance only 570 metres from the shores of Peloponesse' coast of Punta and with another 3 square kilometres of ground in Lakonia, which constitutes the Community of Elafonissos.

The current name the Elafonissos (Island of the Deers), according to research of Stamoulis Iakovos and Kroypis Ilias, is due to the rich hunting that existed in the region from the antiquity as it is reported by the Pausanias there was a statuary of Artemis (Goddess of hunting) in the region. Also, the the existence of a population of deers of red colour. This agrees with Venetian and Portolan maps of 15th century where Elafonissos is impressed as CERVI and the Kythera as CERIGO (a name that the locals use up to today for Kythera (Tsirigo). This wasn't the case with Elafonisso as it wasn't inhabited at the time. In addition, the village acrosss the channel Viglafia of draws it's name from Vigla(observatory) and Elafia (Deers). From Viglafia is a natural observatory for the surrounding fields, the lagoon Stroggyli, and Elafonissos island. The isolatated population of deers in Elafonissos could well be observed from there.

Here is a view from the sand dunes behind the Megali Paralia, one of the most beautiful beaches in the island. The whole zone is a natural reserve: wild birds are nestling in the area and rare wild flowers are to be seen among the dunes.

Photo Information
Viewed: 4225
Points: 94
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Samuele Bianco (sam224) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1233 W: 0 N: 1420] (6215)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH