Photos

Photographer's Note

The church with its painted coffered ceiling is the main sight in the village.
The village was named after the patron saint of the town's Roman Catholic church, St George (György) and the first written mention occurs relatively late, in a charter of 1326.
Built in 1787, the most attractive feature of this rectangular Baroque church is its wooden coffered, painted ceiling. The ceiling is comprised of 88 oblong, blue-coloured wooden panels. The two middle pieces are the only exceptions in the sense that they are decorated by brownish flower motifs and circular text, while all the rest depict white, fleecy clouds. Similarly, the lower panels of the gallery are also adorned by 37 oblong panels ornamented with flower and star patterned motifs resembling embroidery in blue, white and black. The 20 panels of the front of the gallery are also richly ornamented; some are carved, the others painted with geometric designs. The Baroque pulpit and its crowned soundboard are both painted in many colours.
(source: Vendégváró)

emjleclercq, cunejo200, atus, parbo, pablominto, Wanda1, anney, MikiM, szabcsi trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 3338
Points: 22
Discussions
Additional Photos by George Rumpler (Budapestman) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 8900 W: 3 N: 20435] (82620)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH