Photos

Photographer's Note

Mill of Pissignano - Campello sul Clitunno (PG)

It is located just below the Tempietto del Clitunno, it was driven by the driving force of the water coming from the Clitunno, it worked for wheat and oil.
It was built by the Municipality of Spoleto in 1441, as an inscription on the architrave of the access door reminds us, in which the name of the governor of Spoleto Amorotto Condulmer is chiseled, while the coats of arms of the Municipality and the governor himself remain intact. Another coat of arms of Spoleto is affixed along a wall. In 1520 the Municipality of Spoleto came into conflict with the Brancaleoni family had begun to build another mill on the Clitunno river, under Pissignano, despite the prohibition of Spoleto which had previously prevented it from the same community of Campello, evidently to gain profit on the exclusive of the grinding. In the nineteenth century the mill passed to the Della Genga; then it was transformed and used as an accommodation, currently (2020) it is abandoned, but retains many elements that recall its ancient function.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17123 W: 130 N: 35422] (195589)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2020-02-20
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposition: f/0.1, 30 secondes
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2020-02-22 2:31
Viewed: 0
Points: 38
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 17123 W: 130 N: 35422] (195589)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH