Photos

Photographer's Note

The present church is built upon the old parish church, which we know dated from the 8th century. There are three doorways. The first, coming from Siena, is a magnificent example of Romanesque, built of sandstone and travertine. On the inside of the great round arch an extraordinary wealth of symbolic religious themes can be seen; The first "portale di mezzogiorno" (south door), obviously still in the Romanesque style, even though there is a hint of the Gothic, is attributed to Giovanni Pisano. With its protruding porch supported on two columns, and with its wonderful balance, it epitomizes the Gassical, Ro- rnanesque and Gothic styles. The bell-tower, as it appears today was built at the end of the 18th century and rephlaced the old arched bell-tower. Inside the church there is a triangular beamed ceiling. The baroque choir was built in 1655 replacing the original apse, and the high altar is in the rococo styte. Behind the altar the magnificent inhid panels, by the Sienese Antonio Barili, date from between 1482 and 1502. The wonderful marquetry 19 panels in all, of which only seven are at San Quirico - were acquired by Marchese Chigi, in 1749, and set into the choir. The organ, dating from the 17th century, revealed after restoration to have a splendid timbre, which is emphasized by the perfect acoustics of the church. In a wing of the transept can be found the wonderful polyptych of "Sano di Pietro" (Sienese School - 15th Century). The piece was painted espressly for the parish of San Quirico, as can be seen by the red and gold coat-of-arms of the town and the presence of the patron saint.

bobocortis, paololg trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1323
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Sabrina Pezzoli (Sekhmet73) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 241 W: 155 N: 286] (4189)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH