Photographer's Note

The Principality of Liechtenstein - a small country located in Central Europe, the Alps, on the eastern bank of the Rhine. From the east it borders with Austria, the west and south with Switzerland. Area 160, 476 km2. Population 35 thousand.

In Roman times the territory of the present state of Liechtenstein was the province of Raetia. In the fifth century occupied by a Germanic tribe Alemans, predecessors of today's inhabitants of the country. During the reign of Charlemagne Raetia became the county (later County of Vaduz), which since 1396 developed a dependency on the Reich. In 1434 the county attached property Schellenburg. Austrian princes of Liechtenstein bought the property Schellenburg in 1699 , in 1712 the county of Vaduz, thereby creating a principality of Liechtenstein, recognized in 1719 by Austria as an independent.

Between 1815-1866 the country belonged to the German Union, after the dissolution associated himself politically and economically with Austria. After the collapse of Austria has established close relations with neutral Switzerland, concluding an agreement with her post and monetary agreement (1921) and a customs union (1923). Only in 1984, following a national referendum, women were granted suffrage.

Photo taken during the cycling race in 1996 on the border between Liechtenstein and Switzerland . This is a scan from a negative.

serp2000, yeln, kordinator, danos, ikeharel trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 4194
Points: 20
  • None
Additional Photos by Jozef Zbigniew Napora (raszid62) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1797 W: 41 N: 3315] (18457)
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
  • Primorsko-Goranska photo
View More Pictures