Photos

Photographer's Note

The old gold mine houses the Underground Museum of Mining and Gold Metallurgy. Gold was mined here as early as the 13th century. Mining of the main deposits ceased in the 19th century, but the last 30kg of gold were excavated in 1962.
.
Two of the old galleries are open to visitors. The 'Czarna' gallery leads through the 16th century hand-excavated heading. The 'Gertruda' gallery features an underground waterfall (8m high) and an exhibition of old mining tools.

COSTANTINO trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1436
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Waldemar Fit (Wafitek) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 12 W: 6 N: 24] (501)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH