Photos

Photographer's Note

Founded in the 14th cent., Bedzin was situated on the Wrocław-Kraków trade route. The first coal mine in the Upper Silesian basin opened at Będzin in 1785. The town passed to Prussia in 1795 and to Russia in 1815; it was returned to Poland in 1919.
King’s Castle in Bedzin; impressive ruins of the castle on the left bank of the river Czarna Przemsza. Originally, built for the Casimir the Great in the XIV century. Partly destroyed by the Swedish invasion in 1655. In 1855 rebuilt by Francisco Maria Lanci who lowered the castle’s tower and introduced several changes into the main building. Now a museum.

papagolf21, sarhanp, Gerrit, jrj, peck, berek trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ghost Cat (jasmis) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3162 W: 831 N: 3819] (58603)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2003-05-25
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Camera: Canon G3
  • Exposition: f/4, 1/1250 secondes
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2005-12-22 3:48
Viewed: 10761
Points: 52
Discussions
Additional Photos by Ghost Cat (jasmis) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3162 W: 831 N: 3819] (58603)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH