Photos

Photographer's Note

The clocktower at left dates back to the 13th century, (approximately 1224-1241 AD) & was originally built as part of the second belt fortification of the town. It's more commonly known as the council tower, as the council buildings are adjacent. After the defeat of the 2nd belt, improvements were made and a 3rd defense belt added making the tower obsolete. It was used as a grain silo, an army lookout tower and a fire watch. In 1885 the upper part of the tower collapsed. It was rebuilt between 1886 & 1888 AD & the clock faces seen here added then. The clocktower was completely restored between 1961 and 1962. Then it was a museum until 1998. More information here:

http://www.femeiastie.ro/timpliber/muzee/turnul-cu-ceas-turnul-sfatului-din-sibiu

Click 'translate' top right.

Photo Information
Viewed: 491
Points: 44
Discussions
Additional Photos by Chris Jules (ChrisJ) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 13504 W: 1026 N: 26410] (127709)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH