Photos

Photographer's Note

The Minorite monks arrived to Ptuj shortly after the Dominicans, in 1239, according to written records. The first time the Minorite monastery appeared in written documents seems to be the year 1280 in an undated document, while the second time the dated document bears the inscription of the year 1290.
This Monastery, like the Dominican one, was established by the Lords of Ptuj. At the beginning, this was a long, narrow, single-nave and simple preacher church with a salient presbytery, the so-called "long choir", with two quadrangular vaulted bays and with a conclusion ending in five sides of an octagon. The church was decorated with paintings already in the first period of its construction.

In the 13th century, the monastic buildings were humble and encompassed only the eastern part of the today's complex. In the following centuries, the church was not subject to significant changes. In the last quarter of the 17th century the Monastery, which was lead then by Casparus Dietl, quite a few Baroque elements were added. The Baroque façade, being the first of the kind on the territory of today's Slovenia, introduced a certain dynamism in the construction. The works were supervised by Dionis Merlino from Lugano.

By 1696, the cloister and the three wings of the Monastery were renovated. The most excellent places in the Monastery are undoubtedly the Summer Refectory and the Minorite Library.

http://www.ptuj.info/

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1526
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 307 W: 127 N: 984] (6849)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH