Photographer's Note

The Celtic nations are territories in North-West Europe in which that area's own Celtic languages and cultural traits have survived. The term "nation" is used in this context to mean a generally defined region that is associated with a common identity, language or culture. It is not synonymous with "sovereign state", but rather with traditional territories or "countries".
The six territories recognised as Celtic nations are Brittany (Breizh), Cornwall (Kernow), Ireland (Éire), the Isle of Man (Mannin), Scotland (Alba), and Wales (Cymru).
A beautiful survivor of ancient Celtic culture is its art. Ornamental, favouring curves to straight lines, Celtic art is deep in symbolism.
An example is this Celtic Cross on a graveyard on the Isle of Skye.

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 5149
Points: 6
  • None
Additional Photos by Kris Verhoeven (verswe) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 61 W: 3 N: 1206] (7330)
View More Pictures