Photos

Photographer's Note

Panagia Apsinthiotissa is a Greek Orthodox monastery located at the southern foot of the Pentadaktylos range in Cyprus. According to a local legend, the monastery was named after a wormwood bush that covered the mouth of the cave in which a monk had hidden an icon of the Virgin Mary in order to save it during the period of Byzantine Iconoclasm. Many years later, after the restoration of images, the inhabitants of the area saw a strange light shining from this point on the mountain. They found the icon and built a monastery immediately below in the name of the Virgin and the wormwood bush. The monastery was probably established in the eleventh or twelfth century as a Byzantine imperial foundation and continued to enjoy a degree of prominence in the Lusignan and Venetian periods. Boustronios tells us that the Queen of Cyprus worshipped at the monastery in 1486, the implication being that Panagia Apsinthiotissa was under the Roman Church. He also reports that pilgrimages were made to this monastery -together with Antiphonitis- on the fifteenth of August by all the people of Kyrenia. After the Ottoman conquest, the monastery became the property of the Orthodox Patriarch of Jerusalem and subordinate to the nearby Monastery of Agios Ioannis Chrysostomos in Koutsoventis. The main church of the monastery appears to have been built in the twelfth century and has a cross-in-square plan of the Byzantine type surmounted by a high dome. The narthex, on the west side, has simple Gothic rib vaulting and probably dates to the fifteenth century. Writing in 1918, George Jeffery describes the establishment as ruin...



...taken at the panagia absinthiotissa monastery on the pentadaktylos mountains...



(beşparmak dağlarındaki panagia absinthiotissa manastırı'nda çekildi.)

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2229
Points: 10
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by korkut bostanci (bostankorkulugu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 3397 W: 718 N: 8252] (42812)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH