Photos

Photographer's Note

This old, huge, steel water wheel is all that remains of a 4-story mill, a post office, school house, and a community of fifty residents. In 1891, one Clay Turner was surprised to find such a fine location for a mill, and when his petition for a U.S.post office was accepted, people were so surprised they called their new town "Surprise." This wheel was added to the mill in 1915.
Turner died in 1933, and the community didn't outlast him by very many years. The school graduated its last class in 1945.

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Ed Cooper (EdCooper) (84)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2007-11-04
  • Categories: Ruines
  • Exposition: f/5.0, 1/60 secondes
  • More Photo Info: view
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2009-03-03 11:34
Viewed: 1890
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ed Cooper (EdCooper) (84)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH