Photos

Photographer's Note

The Jaara people are the original inhabitants of the area.

Gold was first discovered in 1851 by Margaret Kennedy, an overseer's wife from the nearby Ravenswood sheep run.

More than 3,000 Chinese settled on the goldfields in 1854.

The goldfields town was called Sandhurst until 1891 when it was officially named Bendigo. Our name came from a shepherd who worked on the Ravenswood Run who grazed his sheep along Bendigo Creek. The shepherd was handy with his fists and was nicknamed Bendigo after the world famous bareknuckled boxer, William 'Bendigo' Thompson from Nottingham in England.

German architect Carl Wilhelm Vahland designed Bendigo Town Hall, the Shamrock Hotel, Anne Caudle Hospital, School of Mines, Masonic Temple (now The Capital - Bendigo's Performing Arts Centre) and Alexandra Fountain.

One of our more significant citizens was Sir John Quick - a lawyer and politician who was instrumental in the formation of the Federation of Australia.

rmajum, bayno trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1387
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Costa Kavadias (Lefkada1970) (179)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH