Photos

Photographer's Note

This picture shows the south portico of a neoclassical building in Buffalo's Delaware park. It was built in 1901 as the New York State pavilion for that year's Pan American Exposition. This was the only permanent structure of the exhibition, it was destined to be the home of the Buffalo & Erie County Historical Society after the exhibition. Designed by Buffalo architect George Cary (1859–1945), the carving on pediment is the work of Charles N. Neihaus (1855-1935), a famous American sculptor. Neihaus also sculpted the Lincoln statue which stands in front of the portico. A close-up of this sculpture is in the Workshop. The building was enlarged with two identical wings in 1929. There are marble relief sculptures around the new wings depicting scenes from Western New York history, they were carved by Edmund R. Amateis. One of the panels is shown in the Workshop

No_One trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1322
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Barnabas Bozoki (bbarna) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 46 W: 5 N: 474] (1339)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH