Photos

Photographer's Note

The monastery of Xenofontos features two katholika. The original (red church in the background, rightmost), near the entrance of the monastery, dedicated to the memory of Saint George, was built in the 16th century and features frescoes of the Cretan School. The new (leftmost) was restored between the years 1817-1837 and is the largest of all the katholika of the Holy Mountain. (not the largest church, kyriakons of Saint Andrew’s Skete and Skete of Prophet Elijah are larger) Next to the new katholikon is the Phiale for the blessing of the waters.
(right click to see full size image)

rbassin, timecapturer trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1087
Points: 4
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksandar Dekanski (dekanski) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 307 W: 125 N: 954] (6557)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH