Photos

Photographer's Note

Santuário de Fátima or Shrine of Fatima as seen from another perspective taken at blue hour.

=============================================

The project was designed by the architect Gerardus Samuel van Krieken and continued by João Antunes. The first stone was blessed on May 13, 1928, by the archbishop of Évora and the dedication took place on October 7, 1953. The title of the basilica was granted by Pius XII, through the brief Luce Superna, of November 11, 1954.

The building is 70.5 meters long and 37 wide and was totally built with limestone of the region, branco do mar.

The author of the architectural complex of the Colonnade is António Lino. Consisting of 200 columns and half-columns and 14 altars, the Colonnade includes a Way of the Cross in ceramic; these panels were produced in the factory "Viúva Lamego" according to the project of António Lino with the cooperation of the ceramist Manuel Cargaleiro.

Over the Colonnade, there are 17 statues. Some are of saints whose congregations exist in Fatima; others are of saints who, by their writings and preaching were "Marian apostles." The largest statues are 3.2 meters high and the smallest 2.3 meters.

The organ of the Prayer Area, located in the choir room, on the left side of the Basilica of Our Lady of the Rosary, was manufactured by Yves Koenig. It has 20 ranks, spread over two manuals keyboards and pedal gear. Its composition allows to be used in great celebrations, and thanks to its wide range of sound possibilities, it can interpret a wide repertoire.

Source: www.fatima.p

pajaran, johnjmoe, ikeharel trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 12
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Tomek Tabor (quovadis) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 209 W: 1 N: 1016] (4500)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH