Photos

Photographer's Note

The Red Mill was built about 1812 to process wool. In its early days it was not nearly so large, nor was it likely painted red. All through the next one hundred years the structure would be expanded and altered to accommodate different endeavors; the enterprises included grist milling, plaster and talc grinding, graphite processing and peach-basket production. In the 1830s a large stone mill would be constructed across the river on the east bank; the proprietors here stuck to grinding grain; and the two mills stood and stand yet as eloquent testimony to a once keen harmony between man's needs and Nature's possibilities.

Today the site is known as The Red Mill Museum Village. A wide variety of special programs are offered for schools and the general public. The Red Mill Shop, located on the first floor of the widely-recognized and beloved old mill, features a variety of gifts and historical reproductions. The upper floors are devoted to Hunterdon County history. Numerous items from the Museum's 40,000 piece collection are on display.

source; njskylands.com

Photo Information
Viewed: 3712
Points: 44
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by lakshmi partha (lakshmip1949) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 2555 W: 0 N: 2977] (19081)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH