Photos

Photographer's Note

As to the main channel of the Neva, down to the middle of the nineteenth century it was crossed only by pontoon bridges of timber construction. Projects of permanent-type bridges over the Neva had begun to appear during the last few decades of the eighteenth century, but they were never carried out. The building techniques used in those days could not cope with the difficulties created by the great depth of the Neva, its loose bottom soil and the dangers of the spring ice drift. The first permanent metaj bridge over the Neva was begun in 1843 and completed in 1850. It spanned the river at a point opposite the Square of the Annunciation (now Labour Square) and assured easy communication between Vasilyevsky Island and the left bank. First named Blagoveshchensky (Annunciation), in 1855 the bridge was renamed Nikolayevsky. The project for this monumental structure was developed by S. Kerbedz, a St. Petersburg civil engineer, while the railing was* designed by Alexander Briullov, architect, brother of the prominent painter Karl Briullov. The structure was composed of cast-iron arched 'spans, including a swinging span next to the right bank, designed to allow the passage of sea-going craft.
www.petersburg-bridges.com

Sne011, mafegan trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Coskun Celal Coskun (coskuncc) (61)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2007-08-07
  • Categories: Architecture
  • Exposition: f/3.5, 1 secondes
  • Details: Tripod: Yes
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2008-09-04 13:13
Viewed: 1734
Points: 8
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Coskun Celal Coskun (coskuncc) (61)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH