Photographer's Note

St. George's has a rough past is an understatement. It was christened as Norte Dame Catholic Church in 1670 by French Jesuits, then burned down by the English, who rebuilt is as St. George's Anglican Church, named after the patron saint of England, in the early 18th century. Over the next two centuries, the church sustained two more fires, plus multiple earthquakes and hurricanes. Like Lazarus, however, it couldn't be kept down-it was rebuilt time and time again, most recently after being damaged by Hurricane Hugo in 1989.

Today, guests can visit to learn more about the church's fascinating history, climb the bell tower, or attend services.

ikeharel, COSTANTINO, pajaran, ChrisJ trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 0
Points: 12
  • None
Additional Photos by Zbigniew Kalinowski (fotka) Gold Star Critiquer/Silver Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 653 W: 10 N: 1943] (8206)
View More Pictures