Photos

Photographer's Note

This mighty, early Gothic castle was built by the powerful family of Ronovec, within whose period the center of the cylindrical tower was created. This tower, until today, dominates the whole structure. In 1278 the Frydlant castle was passed over to the nobility of Biberstejn, who extended it to other buildings. The shape of the exterior was substantially changed by the Renaissance, particularly in the second half of the 16th century when the Italian architect Marco Spazio built a one story manor with Renaissance gables and graffiti decorated facades under the castle. The exterior of the standing buildings must have been adapted to the new style of architecture.

What is really remarkable is that the collections in the castle were openly accessible to the public as early as 1801.

Nobody trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 3751
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Waldemar Fit (Wafitek) Silver Star Critiquer/Silver Note Writer [C: 12 W: 6 N: 24] (501)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH