Photos

Photographer's Note

At the north edge of the Clonmacnoise complex, there are Temple Finghín's ruins...

TF is a Romanesque chapel with a round tower. It was built in 12th century.
_______________________________

Vandalism of this chapel in 1864 by a person from Birr on a 'pleasure party' to the Seven Churches (as Clonmacnoise was then often termed), led to a landmark case when a prosecution was brought against the vandal by the Crown, due to the activity of the Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland. The remains of the funds which had been raised for the prosecution were later used by the Society to repair the cap of the church's tower, which was in need of conservation.

(from search.com encyclopedia)

novacain, jaja1970, baddori trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2678
Points: 7
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Gianluca Boni (djanloo) Silver Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 49 W: 2 N: 59] (422)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH