Photos

Photographer's Note

The beautiful arched entry of The Basilica Of The Shrine Of Our Lady Of The Rosary.

Once in Pompeii, one is struck by the white mass of the Sanctuary with its domes and lateral chapels. The present temple is the result of the enlargement made in 1939 around the original church, which, as far as the dome, is today the central nave. The façade, on the other hand, was inaugurated in 1901 after eight years of work by the architect Giovanni Rispoli. To Bartolo Longo it represented the monument dedicated to universal peace built with the offerings of millions of people all over the world. Although the sanctuary is generally an oasis for prayer, there is inevitable whispering caused by the numerous people interested in the precious marble ornaments, mosaics and paintings.

http://www.pompei.biz/santuarioeng.htm

maloutim, Charo trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1836
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Brian Macpherson (ciaobella) (62)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH