Photos

Photographer's Note

The Capuchin friars arrived in Spoleto in 1535, residing in the church of Sant'Anna, (http://www.iluoghidelsilenzio.it/convento-dei-cappuccini-di-santanna-strada-dei-patricani-di-spoleto-pg/ ) on the road of the Patricani, from where Father Bernardino da Colpetrazzo wrote his chronicles, and where he himself and San Giuseppe da Leonessa were fathers superior.
In 1570 they decided to approach the city and therefore to build a new convent on Colle Attivoli, which, as soon as it was ready, was consecrated by the bishop Pietro Orsini. The French closed it in the early 180s. After the restoration it was reopened in 1814. Another event, the Italian unification, led to its new closure in 1866, after being acquired by the state.
The friars bought it back with a generous donation from the Pianciani Counts. Recently, in 1967, the convent was renovated.
It is currently a formation house for the Capuchin provinces of Umbria, Marche, Abruzzo, Lazio and Sardinia.
Although devoid of particular artistic value, the convent has an atmosphere of great serenity. Ring the friars, a moment of recollection will easily be opened to you. It is a tradition for the Spoleto people to go for breakfast at the convent on Easter Monday.
The small and very pretty church adjacent to the Capuchin convent (which obviously contains another inside) is dedicated to the Blessed Virgin Mary of Lourdes.

Photo Information
  • Copyright: Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19322 W: 130 N: 40859] (216857)
  • Genre: Lieux
  • Medium: Couleur
  • Date Taken: 2005-04-04
  • Exposition: f/0.8, 30 secondes
  • Versions: version originale
  • Date Submitted: 2021-12-07 3:55
Viewed: 0
Points: 32
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Silvio Sorcini (Silvio1953) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 19322 W: 130 N: 40859] (216857)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH