Photos

Photographer's Note

St. Anthony of Padua's Church- The Franciscans

It rises on the slope of Przemysł Hill, west of the Old Market Square. Conventual Franciscans (in black habits) came to Poznań in the first half of the 17th century. The construction of a church was begun in 1674. The adjacent monastery was erected at the turn of the 18th century. After the monastery was closed in 1832, the Prussian authorities ceded it to the German Catholics. Due to the lowering of the street, in 1875 a flight of stairs was built leading to the church. Between 1899-1911 the south and east wings of the monastery were demolished. In 1921 the Franciscans returned to their former seat.

www.poznan.pl

Part 2/2

asajernigan, Paul65, jlynx trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1515
Points: 6
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Aleksander Liebert (alexlie) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 368 W: 86 N: 775] (5359)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH