Photos

Photographer's Note

Tromostovje (Triple Bridge), a special feature of Ljubljana's architecture, is made up of an old stone bridge from 1842 and two side ones which architect Jože Plečnik added in 1931; together, they provide an elegant entrance into the Old Town.

The square flows into the Three Bridges (Tromostovje) and across the side footbridges and the bridge between them into the old city core. The stone bridge, with its support in the middle of the riverbed, was set up in 1842. The bridge became too narrow for the tram, pedestrians and the motor traffic, so in 1929 Plečnik invented two daring arches of narrower concrete footbridges, whose ground plan opens in an almost fan-like fashion towards the square. In 1932 the bridges received a more uniform shape with new railings, wide balustrades made of smoothly polished artificial stone, and similar lamps and decorative mushroom on the railing. The whole thing operates as a lively square with a steady flow of pedestrians and vehicles. Plečnik added staircases from the footbridges to the lower terrace, where they are connected to the toilets and the fish market. The architect wanted to attract the citizens to the lower terraces and by the riverbed. The Three Bridges with its Mediterranean light and lively shapes are one of the architectural icons of the city. The worn out railings of the bridges, except on the lower floors, were replaced under the supervision of the conservator G. Zupan in 1992. The best-preserved original pieces were taken to the Architectural Museum.

Photo Information
Viewed: 3312
Points: 78
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by vojko dular (yeln) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 1077 W: 55 N: 2227] (11516)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH