Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The Canton of Glarus is located in the east-central Switzerland. It is dominated by the deep valley of River Linth and high mountains. It shares borders with Canton St. Gallen, Cantons Uri and Schwyz and Canton Graubunden.
The capital city is Glarus.

This photo which I’ve taken in Glarus town shows the neo-romanesque Church of Glarus, built in 1861 after a fire destroyed the old church and much of the town of Glarus.
This church is a major symbol of Glarus town. Canton Glarus and Swiss flags are hanging over the road leading to the church, decoration from Swiss National Day.

Glarus town lies on the Linth River at the foot of the Glärnisch foothills in the Glarus Alps.

Glarus town is located 190km east from Bern and 70km south from Zurich.

maria-v1981, ikeharel, adramad, danos, pierrefonds, ktanska, jlbrthnn, kato trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2008
Points: 40
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures