Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).

From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.

Aargau is one of the more northerly and one of the least mountainous Swiss cantons forming part of a great table-land to the north of the Alps (1,404 km2 - 534 thousands inhabitants). It borders Germany to the north, cantons of Basel-Landschaft, Solothurn and Bern to the west, canton of Lucerne to the south and cantons of Zurich and Zug to the east. The capital city is Aarau.

This photo shows the tower of Laufenburg castle and part of typical Laufenburg house.

Laufenburg is located on the Rhine River in Canton Aargau around 60km west from Zurich and 40km east from Basel.

On the other side of the Rhine River lies German Laufenburg. The same name is not by accident, as the two used to be the same Town.

In the early 19th century Napoleon divided the town to two parts separated by Rhine River.
Two bridges now link both towns.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2912
Points: 22
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures