Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The Canton of Bern is the second largest of the 26 Swiss cantons by both surface area and population, located in west-central Switzerland.

It is mainly drained by the River Aare and its tributaries. The area of the canton is commonly divided into six regions. The most populated area is the Bernese Mittelland on the plateau north of the Alps.

The northmost part of the canton is the Bernese Jura bordering the Canton of Jura. The Bernese Oberland is the mountainous region which lies in the south of the canton.

The canton Bern borders cantons of Jura, Solothurn, Neuchâtel, Fribourg, Vaud, Valais, Uri, Nidwalden, Obwalden, Lucerne and Aargau. The capital city is Bern.

I have taken this photo in Old City of Bern showing the River Aare, Nyddeg Bridge (built 1840), the oldest bridge in the town, the Undergate Bridge (built in 1461-1489) and the second oldest church in the town, the protestant Nydegg Church (built in 1341-1346).

City of Bern is situated 95km southwest from Zurich and 130km northeast from Geneva.

Photo Information
Viewed: 2701
Points: 40
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures