Photos

Photographer's Note

The Revolution House takes its name from the Revolution of 1688. Three hundred years ago this cottage was an alehouse - the 'Cock and Pynot' (pynot is a dialect word for magpie) - and it was here that three local noblemen: the Earl of Devonshire (from nearby Chatsworth), the Earl of Danby and Mr John D'Arcy, met to begin planning their part in events which led to the overthrow of King James II in favour of William and Mary of Orange.

Periko, pajaran trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1179
Points: 0
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Steve Fedun (l4ts) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 0 N: 17] (248)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH