Photos

Photographer's Note

A little bit of a change from recent posts. Showing some of our area to a visiting friend, we went to the market town of Helmsley with its fine castle ruins. The castle is surrounded by two deep ditches cut out of the rock on which it stands. The present stone castle is thought to have been started around 1186 to replace the timber castle, built around 1120. Further modifications were made to the fortifications in the mid 13th century.
The fortifications were destroyed by Parliamentarian Sir Thomas Fairfax in 1644 during the English Civil War, after a 3 month siege had starved out the Royalist Manners family.
This photo shows what remains of the East Tower.

A silhouetted version is in the WS. It was taken from the other side while standing on the earthworks between the two ditches.

While there we joined English Heritage so now have a good excuse to visit some of the other National monuments in the area.

Photo Information
Viewed: 4837
Points: 128
Discussions
Additional Photos by Kath Featherstone (feather) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 7646 W: 399 N: 14391] (51130)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH