Photos

Photographer's Note

St Andrews has been a place of pilgrimage for centuries. Legend claims that the bones of St Andrew were brought from Patras in Greece by a monk called Regulus in about AD 390. Historical evidence tends to lean more heavily towards the relics arriving in the possession of a bishop fleeing from England almost 400 years later.
Scotland's oldest university was founded here in 1413 and golf was believed to be a popular sport at that time. Certainly it was taxing the minds and bodies of the local population by 1457 when King James II banned the game by act of the Scottish Parliament because archery practice, which was necessary to the defence of the realm, was being neglected.
The Old Course is closed most Sundays and you can walk this famous golfing venue.
These Mallards landed in the burn which guards the first green and over which the famous Swilken bridge crosses on the eighteenth.
The first tee is in front of the clubhouse (on the left) and the eighteenth green is in front of the red building (on the right centre). This building was, until recently, student flats but is now being turned into luxury apartments overlooking the 18th green!

finlay trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1388
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ian Forbes (Blairs) Silver Note Writer [C: 0 W: 0 N: 11] (34)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH