Photos

Photographer's Note

Nestled on miles of quiet, unspoiled Bay of Fundy beaches, is the serene seaside community of St. Martins. The village is the gateway to the Fundy Trail, a park with walking and hiking paths along the last undeveloped stretch of coastline on the eastern seaboard.

The original name of the area was `Goolwagagek` a Mi`kmaq word meaning `haunt of the hooded seal`. In 1783 a group of loyalist soldiers known as the King`s Orange Rangers settled there. The village became a major ship-building community in which 500 sailing ships were built and launched to sail around the world. A disastrous fire on May 21, 1900 destroyed over 68 buildings in the village. However, the wealth of the shipbuilder has left a lasting architectural legacy in the grand homes that remain.

Over the past decade, St. Martins has become known as one of New Brunswick`s most beautiful seaside vacation resort communities. The Village is a magnet for artists and photographers wishing to capture the unspoiled beauty of the area. A small community of artisans produce pottery, paintings and sculptures. And, there area growing number of unique shops and galleries. Opportunities for hiking, walking, biking, birdwatching, rockhounding, and beachcombing are all within steps of excellent dining and a range of accommodation in campgrounds, cottages, B&Bs, and country inns.

asajernigan trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1700
Points: 2
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Ian Judge (peterpuck1968) (44)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH