Photographer's Note

This series of photographs is offering a short journey around Switzerland, a landlocked country geographically divided between the Alps, the Swiss Plateau and the Jura, bordering with France, Germany, Austria, Liechtenstein and Italy.
Switzerland (the Swiss Confederation) consists of following 20 cantons (states) and 6 half-cantons: Aargau, Appenzell Ausserhoden*, Appenzell Innerhoden*, Basel Landschaft*, Basel Stadt*, Bern, Fribourg, Geneva, Glarus, Graubünden, Jura, Lucerne, Neuchatel, Nidwalden*, Obwalden*, Schaffhausen, Schwyz, Solothurn, St. Gallen, Thurgau, Ticino, Uri, Valais, Vaud, Zug and Zurich (*=half-canton).
From each canton I’ll post 2 photos and from each half-canton 1 photo, total 46 photographs.


The Canton of Schaffhausen is the northernmost canton of Switzerland. It is located north of Canton Zurich and west of Lake Constance. The Rhine Falls are the largest waterfalls in Europe and lie on the border of the canton of Schaffhausen and canton of Zurich.

Except short borderline with canton Zurich, the canton of Schaffhausen is almost entirely surrounded by Germany. The capital city is Schaffhausen.

There are 35 buildings or sites in Schaffhausen that are listed as Swiss heritage sites of national significance.

This photo was taken in the old portion of the city, which has many fine Renaissance era buildings decorated with exterior frescos and sculptures. The captured building was built by rich merchant family in year 1721. Famous Swiss Franz Carl Weber toy shop is located at the ground level of this old building.

Schaffhausen is located 170km northeast from Bern and 52km north from Zurich.

You can see more photos from Switzerland on my website

holmertz, jlbrthnn, ikeharel, bema, Graal, danos, baddori, bona, kato trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 2282
Points: 34
  • None
Additional Photos by Miro Susta (mirosu) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 1572 W: 0 N: 3418] (16313)
View More Pictures