Photographer's Note

A travel begins today through fantastic Italy, can therefore know images and colors of all the Italian regions...


Though geographically a region of central Italy, Abruzzi has always been linked to the history of Southern Italy. The impervious territory always hindered communications and was the cause of the fragmentation and isolation of the peoples of the region throughout its history. In ancient times Abruzzi was inhabited by several peoples, including the Equi, Marsi, Vestini and Praetutii, who were conquered by the Romans before the third century b.c. After the decline of the Roman Empire the region broke up into small feudal states and during the early Middle Ages Abruzzi was for a long time under the control of the Lombard duchy of Spoleto. In the 12th century the Normans conquered the territory, which became part of the Kingdom of Sicily and under Frederick II of Hohenstaufen had Sulmona as the regional capital. In 1272 Charles I of Anjou divided the territory of Abruzzi into two provinces, ultra flumen Piscariae or Abruzzo ulteriore and citra flumen Piscariae or Abruzzo citeriore, with a common governor residing in Chieti; in 1641 a second Governor was established in L'Aquila and in 1684 a third in Teramo.

In 1807 under Giuseppe Bonaparte the province ultra flumen Piscariae was divided into the two provinces of Abruzzo ulteriore I, with capital Teramo, and Abruzzo ulteriore II, with capital L'Aquila, while Chieti remained the capital of Abruzzo citeriore. The existence of three provinces under the name of Abruzzo also explains why the region has always be known in the plural, Abruzzi, and many place names maintain the plural (Anversa degli Abruzzi, Tione degli Abruzzi, Villa S. Lucia degli Abruzzi, not to speak of the regional capital, L'Aquila degli Abruzzi), though it is no longer commonly used by Italians. Pescara, the fourth and last province, was added in 1927. After the fall of the Hohenstaufen dynasty in the 13th century, Abruzzi and Molise in turn came under the control of the Anjou, the Aragonese, the Spanish Hapsburgs, and finally, in the 18th century, became part of the Bourbon kingdom of Naples, under whose rule the region was divided into Abruzzo Ulteriore I, Abruzzo Ulteriore II, Abruzzo Citra, and Molise. By the early 19th century small liberal groups were taking part in revolutionary activities, and in 1860 the region became part of united Italy. In 1948 Abruzzi was joined with Molise, to the south, to form the region of Abruzzi and Molise; but in 1963 the two regions were separated again.

gioy, Cool-ice, jhm, bazal, kinginexile, yasoda-nandana, simonekarl trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 3887
Points: 28
Additional Photos by paolo ardiani (pione) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Note Writer [C: 214 W: 4 N: 244] (2031)
View More Pictures