Photos

Photographer's Note

It is in fact part of the walls surrounding St David's Park in the centre of Hobart, Tasmania.

St David’s Park was for many years the main cemetery in Hobart. Although it was not consecrated as an Anglican burial ground until 1823, the first burial took place there in 1804. The last burial was in 1872, but the tombstones and memorials remained there and the area became very run down. A visitor in the 1870s wrote about its sadly forlorn state, with many of the headstones defaced, or fallen down, and others covered with a rank growth of weeds; in fact the whole area was an “odious wilderness”, disagreeably expressive of confusion, neglect and disorder.

In 1920 control of the area was transferred to the Hobart City Council. Many of the remains were re-interred at Cornelian Bay Cemetery, walls were made using the surviving headstones, and some of the most important memorials were restored. It opened as a public park in November 1926.

Over the years the Park again fell into disrepair, and further restoration work had to be done in the early 1970s.

The above was taken from the LINC Tasmania web site.

timecapturer, jhm, williewhistler, Royaldevon, ikeharel, omid266 trouve(nt) cette note utile

Photo Information
Viewed: 1509
Points: 28
Discussions
  • None
Additional Photos by Stephen Nunney (snunney) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 10627 W: 63 N: 29874] (130967)
View More Pictures
explore TREKEARTH