Photographer's Note

In the vast majority of the islands of the Aegean their "capitals" are called "Hora". Most of the Horas are located in the interior of the island, high up on some hill, relatively far from the sea. The main reasons, were defensive reasons, as the people of the islands wanted to avoid attacks from the pirates that once upon a time were lurking the Archipelago.

Of course there are some exceptions. For example, the "Hora" of Mykonos is a seaside town, because the Mykonians used to do business with the pirates, or in some cases were pirates themselves.

Last week, I had the chance to visit two islands, that have two of the most beautiful Horas of the Aegean, Serifos and Folegandros.

The Hora of Serifos is divided in 2 parts, in 2 neighbourhoods, the Ano (Upper) Hora and the Kato (lower) Hora. In this photo you can see the square (Piazza) of Ano Hora, where you can see on the background the only building that's not white and blue, and it's the Town Hall.

Photo Information
Viewed: 11775
Points: 116
Additional Photos by Hercules Milas (Cretense) Gold Star Critiquer/Gold Star Workshop Editor/Gold Note Writer [C: 5327 W: 74 N: 16998] (68709)
View More Pictures